Time Flies

In a little over a month, my one and only baby is flying away (well actually riding in a truck, but you get the picture). She graduates from high school and the following day she leaves with my mom to move 14 hours away (driving that is). I’m ok with her going, I actually suggested it. But I’m finding that as time goes on and it gets closer, I’m wondering what the heck am I going to do without her.

Yeah, she’s a crazy teenager and sometimes she doesn’t want anything to do with me but there are other times when we’re inseparable. Like recently, I just wanted to take a drive to the park by the ocean and spend an hour walking, she came with me. We had fun, we sang, we laughed, we took pictures. She loves to go and watch kids movies with me, we do Drive-in nights in the summer, we go out to eat, she helps with our crazy Maine Coon cat (this cat is enormous but very cool).

I guess I’m just saying that I’m going to miss her horribly. I still won’t stop her from going, I think this will be a good move for her. She’ll get a taste of freedom and maybe get some butt kicking by her Nana (which she needs on occasion) and won’t have me hovering nearby.

So I will immerse myself into school, work (uggg), books, spending time with friends and my brother, and try to adjust to being an empty nester, wow I’m way too young for that term.

On the plus side, my house will stay cleaner. I won’t have to beg anyone to help clean up the mess that she created. Worry about dishes that she’s hidden in her room, or left sitting on the coffee table. If something breaks, it’s only me and the cat. I knew if I thought long enough, I’d find some cheerful things.

Leave a Reply

