23 Years go by Fast…..

Today marks both the best day of my life and the worst. My daughter was born 23 years ago today. She is an amazing, sweet, beautiful woman. It was also the day I was diagnosed with Non – Hodgkin’s Lymphoma. If you’ve read this blog before, you know of the struggle that I went through. If you haven’t, go back and read it. It does have a happy ending.

I can’t believe it’s been 23 years. I’ve gotten to see and do so many things and still have more left to do. I got to watch my daughter grow up. Raised her mostly on my own, but with help from my village too. My mom, brother, best friend, you guys have always been there for me and helped me anytime that I needed it. I got two different college degrees, I’ve flown for fun trips and for work (I hadn’t flown before I was 30 yrs old). I’ve been to Florida, Tennessee, Virginia, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, Illinois, Minnesota (and of course all the New England states).

I got to see my brother become a dad. And a great dad he is. I got to become an aunt. I love my niece as if she were my own. Although being auntie is so much better, I get to do all the fun stuff without having to be the bad guy.

I think the biggest challenge happened in this past year. I made roots, I bought a house. And being a homeowner has definitely presented many challenges, but I don’t regret it one bit. And in April I added to my family, I got a sweet (sometimes bitey) puppy. Her name is Pixie and she is a joy. She is also a challenge and reminds me of having a baby in the house.

23 years is a wonder gift to be given and I look forward to many more years to come. While I don’t dwell on the past, sometimes I do look back and think about what an amazing life I do live and I’m so happy that I’m here to share it with my family and friends. If I were to give advice to anyone, it’s always, life is way too short not to be happy. I found my happy, have you?

Leave a Reply

